boardhome
Today's Date:
Board Meetings
          Calendar
          Agendas
          Minutes
          Board Members
Licensure
          Licensee Lookup
          Licensure with the Board
          Applications and Forms
          Fees
          Education
          FAQ
          Renew Your License
          Change Your Address
          Application status
          Print copy of your license
Information
          Laws and Policies
          Publications / News
          FOIA Requests
          Related Links
Complaints / Board Orders
          File a Complaint
          Board Orders
          What can I expect when a complaint
          is filed against me?
Contact Us
        Board Email:BoardInfo@llr.sc.gov
        Board Phone:(803) 896-4588
        Administrator:Theresa Richardson
        Advice Counsel:   Mary League   **
        Directions:110 Centerview Dr, Columbia SC

**The Office of Advice Counsel is responsible for
providing legal advice to all Boards, Commissions
and Panels. These attorneys do not provide legal
advice to parties outside LLR.

South Carolina Board of Cosmetology

Important Notices:

  • Due to technical difficulties with the online renewal system experienced by many licensees, the Board of Cosmetology is extending the 2017-2019 deadline to renew cosmetology licenses until Friday, March 24, 2017. The Board appreciates your patience and understanding. Thank you for your service to the citizens of South Carolina.
  • As of January 17, 2017, The Original International Spa Institute (OISI) is no longer a Board-approved CE provider, and the Board will not accept hours for continuing education credit from OISI that were obtained after that date. Only hours from Board-approved CE providers can be applied to the Board's continuing education requirements. A list of these approved providers is listed on the education page at http://www.llr.sc.gov/POL/Cosmetology/index.asp?file=ce.htm .

  • Current South Carolina cosmetology licenses will expire at 11:59 p.m. on Friday, March 10, 2017. Reminders will be mailed in January as a courtesy. If the licenses are not renewed as of March 11, 2017, the licenses are considered expired, and the reinstatement process must be completed in order for you to continue to provide cosmetology and other related services. It is unlawful to practice without a current license.

    To avoid a delay in licensure/salon services, you must have 12 hours of continuing education on file with the LLR office that was obtained during the licensure period March 11, 2015 - March 10, 2017. You may renew online using the same User ID and password used during the last renewal. If you do not remember or do not have a copy of the User ID and password, you may go to https://eservice.llr.sc.gov/OnlineRenewals/ and click on “I Forgot/ Do Not know my User ID”. Please keep in mind that you must have a valid email address on file with the LLR office. If you need to update or confirm your email, please contact BoardInfo@llr.sc.gov(ensure that you supply your name and license number for easier identification).

REMINDERS:
Name Changes - In order to avoid a delay in processing your renewal, please submit name change requests along with a copy of your legal documentation (marriage license, divorce decree) to BoardInfo@llr.sc.gov

Continuing Education - Only half of the 12-hour CE requirement may be completed online. Cosmetologists are the only licensees who may complete any CE class with the exception of instructor classes for CE credit.

Instructors - must have evidence of twelve (12) contact hours of instruction geared toward teaching on file prior to renewing. Only half of the 12-hour requirement may be completed online. If you complete 6 hours online, you must complete 6 hours in-person with the same CE provider in order to gain full credit.

New Licensees - If this is your first time renewing, you are not required to complete continuing education for the first renewal.

Check Your CEU Hours Online

**NEW**   Inactive Status - If you did not obtain CE classes during the licensure period, March 11, 2015 - March 10, 2017, you may place your license in inactive status via the online renewal or you may submit a paper renewal application and select the inactive status box. You are required to pay the renewal fee in order to maintain inactive status. You will not receive a license as you cannot practice or render cosmetology/ cosmetology-related services while the license is inactive. This is not an option for circumventing the CE requirement as you will be required to gain CE classes for each renewal period while on inactive status if you decide to reactivate your license at a later date.



Disclaimer of Liability

With respect to any information found on this website, neither the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation or any of its employees, makes any warranty, express or implied, including the warranties of merchantability and fitness for a particular purpose, or assumes any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, completeness, or usefulness of any information, apparatus, product, or process disclosed, or represents that its use would not infringe privately owned rights.


Synergy Business Park; Kingstree Building
110 Centerview Dr.
Columbia, S.C. 29210
(803) 896-4300 | Office Hours: 8:30 a.m.- 5:00 p.m.

Directions | Site Map | Privacy | Disclaimer | Customer Satisfaction Survey | Contact Us | Other Languages
Report State Agency Fraud (Office of the Inspector General)


The S.C. Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation is pleased to provide various publications in portable document format (PDF).
You will need Adobe Reader to view and print these publications.