boardhome
Today's Date:

Licensure Information
Licensee Lookup

Licensure with the Board
Applications and Forms
Fees
Education
FAQ
Renew Your License
Change Your Address
Application Status
Print copy of your license

Publications
Publications
Related Links

Complaint/Board Order Information
Board Orders
File a Complaint
What Can I Expect When a Complaint is Filed Against Me?


Board Information/Laws and Policies
Laws/Policies
FOIA Requests
Minutes
Board Members
Agendas
Board Meeting Calendar

Contact Us

Telephone: (803) 896-4497
Email: funhelp@llr.sc.gov

Doris Cubitt, CPA,
Administrator

Jeanie Rose

Wendi Elrod

Amy Holleman

Alex Imgrund
Advice Counsel




South Carolina Board of Funeral Service

Frequently Asked Questions

Q.  What are the requirements to become an apprentice?

A. Complete the following and mail to the address on the application:

•   Must be at least 18 years old.
•   Complete the application.  Click or copy and paste this link into your browser to obtain a copy of the form: http://www.llr.state.sc.us/POL/Funeral/PDF/Apprentice%20Funeral%20Director%20Application
%20complete.pdf
•   Enclose a check or money order made out to the SC Board of Funeral Services in the amount of $50 for either Funeral Director Apprentice or Embalmer Apprentice or both.
•   Complete a Certificate of Apprenticeship.  Click or copy and paste this link into your browser to obtain a copy of the form: http://www.llr.state.sc.us/POL/Funeral/PDF/Apprentice%20Funeral%20Director%20Application
%20complete.pdf . It must be signed by the apprentice, licensee supervisor and manager of the Funeral Establishment which the apprenticeship is to be served.

Q.  Is there a time limit to how long an individual can be an apprentice?

A.  The minimum requirement for an apprenticeship is 2 years.  The individual can renew their apprentice certificate for 12 months.  An apprentice certificate can be renewed no more than three times.  Total amount of time an individual can be an apprentice is no more than 5 years.

Q.  What are the requirements an apprentice must accomplish during their apprenticeship?

A.  Serve a two-year apprenticeship under the supervision of a funeral director or embalmer who has been licensed in South Carolina and

•   Complete 50 funerals for a funeral license or 50 embalmings for an embalming license.
•   Submit quarterly reports (every three months) documenting the completed funerals/embalmings which must be certified by the licensee under whom the apprentice has
served their apprenticeship.  Click or copy and paste this link into your browser to obtain a copy of the form: http://www.llr.state.sc.us/POL/Funeral/PDF/Funeral%20Director-Embalmer%20Quarterly%20Report.pdf .  Any reports not timely filed will not be accepted.

Q.  What are the requirements to become a licensed Embalmer?

A.  Must meet all the requirements below:

•   Must be at least 18 years old

•   Not been convicted of a violent crime or found guilty of a felony or crime of moral turpitude
•   Have either a HS Diploma or a GED
•   Successfully completed a Board approved embalming course from a college accredited by the
American Board of Funeral Service Education
•   Completed a minimum of 2 years as an apprentice under the direct supervision of an active licensed South Carolina Embalmer
•   Either pass the National Embalming Exam or South Carolina State Embalming exam with a minimum score of 75
•   Successfully pass the South Carolina Law exam with a minimum passing score of 75
•   Complete and mail the application and fee of $175.  Click or copy and paste this link into your browser to obtain the application form: http://www.llr.state.sc.us/POL/Funeral/PDF/Funeral%20Director%20Application%20complete.p
df

Q.  What are the requirements to become a licensed Funeral Director?

A.  Must meet all the requirements below:

•   Must be at least 18 years old
•   Not been convicted of a violent crime or found guilty of a felony or crime of moral turpitude
•   Have either a HS Diploma or a GED
•   Completed a minimum of 2 years as an apprentice under the direct supervision of an active licensed South Carolina Funeral Director
•   Successfully completed a one-year course in an accredited mortuary college  orsuccessful completion of a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university  or
successful completion of 60 semester hours at a regionally college or university, including a minimum of 24 semester hours divided among at least 4 of the following areas:
(1) Psychological Sciences:  This area may include courses in General Psychology, Guidance/Counseling, General Sociology, and other Psychology courses; and
(2) Business:  This area may include courses in Accounting, Business Law, Math/Logic, Business Management, Typing, and Computer Science; and
(3) English: This area may include English, English Literature, and English
Composition; and
(4) Natural/Biological/Physical Sciences:  This area may include courses in Chemistry, Biology, Pathology, Microbiology, and Physiology; and
(5) Religion:  This area may include courses in Religion, Bible, and Bible History;  and

•   If you did not go to a mortuary college you would then have to pass the State Funeral Director and State Law Exams with minimum score of 75
•   If you went to the mortuary college and took the dual course (Funeral director and embalmer) then you have to pass the National Funeral Director exam or the State Funeral Director exam with a minimum score of 75
•   Successfully pass the South Carolina Law exam with a minimum passing score of 75
•   Complete and mail the application and fee of $175.  Click or copy and paste this link into your browser to obtain the application form: http://www.llr.state.sc.us/POL/Funeral/PDF/Funeral%20Director%20Application%20complete.p df

Q.  How can I tell if the college that I want to attend is regionally accredited?

A. One way is to go the institutions website.  Normally there will be an area that will describe all its accreditations’.  Another way is to the different regional accreditation websites.  The US is divided into
6 different regions. Find the region where your institution is located and click on the blue hyperlink to verify that your institution is accredited:

Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools, Commission on Higher Education Scope of recognition: the accreditation and preaccreditation ("Candidacy status") of institutions of higher education in Delaware, the District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands, including distance education programs offered at those institutions.

New England Association of Schools and Colleges, Commission on Institutions of Higher
Education
Scope of recognition: the accreditation and preaccreditation ("Candidacy status") of institutions of higher education in Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont that award bachelor's, master's, and/or doctoral degrees and associate degree-granting institutions in those states that include degrees in liberal arts or general studies among their offerings, including the accreditation of programs offered via distance education within these institutions.

North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, The Higher Learning Commission Scope of recognition: the accreditation and preaccreditation ("Candidate for Accreditation") of degree- granting institutions of higher education in Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming, including schools of the Navajo Nation and the accreditation of programs offered via distance education within these institutions.

Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities
Scope of recognition: the accreditation and preaccreditation ("Candidacy status") of postsecondary educational institutions in Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington and the accreditation of such programs offered via distance education within these institutions.

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, Commission on Colleges
Scope of recognition: the accreditation and preaccreditation ("Candidate for Accreditation") of degree- granting institutions of higher education in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia, including distance education programs offered at those institutions.

Western Association of Schools and Colleges
Scope of recognition: the accreditation and preaccreditation ("Candidate for Accreditation") of community and junior colleges located in California, Hawaii, the United States territories of Guam and American Samoa, the Republic of Palau, the Federated States of Micronesia, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and the Republic of the Marshall Islands, and the accreditation of such programs offered via distance education at these colleges.

Q.  Where are the locations of the approved colleges where I can complete the required courses to become either a Funeral Director or Embalmer?

A.  Below is a list of colleges in South Carolina, Georgia and North Carolina that provide courses for Funeral Directors and Embalmers.  You can click on the link to find other approved colleges that provide the required courses  http://www.theconferenceonline.org/schools.shtml:

Piedmont Technical College Funeral Service Education Susan G. Timmons, Dean
P.O. Box 1467
Greenwood, SC  29648-1467
Office: 864-941-8519
Fax: 864-941-8646
E-Mail: timmons.s@ptc.edu
Web Site: www.ptc.edu

Gupton-Jones College of Funeral Service
Patty S. Hutcheson, President
5141 Snapfinger Woods Drive
Decatur, GA  30035
Office: 770-593-2257
Fax: 770-593-1891
E-Mail: gjcfs@mindspring.com or hutchesonpatty@hotmail.comWeb Site: www.gupton-jones.edu

Fayetteville Technical Community College Funeral Service Education Department Michael Landon, Department Chairperson P.O. Box 35236, 2201 Hull Road
Fayetteville, NC  28303-0236
Office: 910-678-8301
Fax: 910-484-6600
E-Mail: landonm@faytechcc.edu
Web Site: www.faytechcc.edu

Ogeechee Technical College | Code #56
Y'Lonne Hodges, Program Director/Lead
Instructor
Funeral Service Education Program
1 Joe Kennedy Boulevard
Statesboro, GA  30458
Office: 912-688-6922
Fax: 912-486-7604
E-Mail: yhodges@ogeecheetech.edu
Web Site: www.ogeecheetech.edu

Q.  How often are exams given?

A. Once the candidate qualifies to take the exam and once the candidate schedules the date of the exam through Pearson Vue.  You can schedule your exam through their website at www.pearsonvue.com/theconference or by phone (800) 709-0180.

Q.  Where can I take the exam in South Carolina?

A. Below is a list of the Pearson Professional Centers throughout the area:

107 Westpark Blvd. Suite 170
Westpark Center II Building
Columbia, SC 29210
803-798-3001

One 10th Street, Suite 640
Augusta Riverfront Center
Augusta, GA 30901
706-724-2892

4601 Charlotte Park Dr., Suite 340
Charlotte Park
Charlotte, NC 28217
704-523-2617

301 Halton Road
Halton Commons Office Park Suite D1
Greenville, SC 29607-3496
864-288-0892

4975 LaCross Rd Suite 255
Rivergate Center II
North Charleston, SC 29406
843-747-9747

785 King George Blvd, Suite C Georgetown Center
Savannah, GA 31419
912-921-5352

You can check for other locations and directions by going to the Pearson Vue website www7.pearsonvue.com/Dispatcher?application=VTCLocator&action=actStartApp&v=W2L&cid=439

Q.  How do I apply to take the exams?

A.  Once you have completed the minimum two year apprenticeship requirement, you will need to complete and mail all the following to:     SC Funeral Services Board
PO Box 12517
Columbia SC  29211-2517

  • A Funeral Director/Embalmer application with a 2x2 recent photo and $175 application fee
  • Apprenticeship affidavit
  • Educational Transcripts
  • National Examination grades from The International Conference of Funeral Services
  • Examining Boards (if applicable)
  • Criminal Background (Within last 12 months)

Once you have been determined eligible to sit for the National Funeral Director Exam, State Funeral Director Exam or State Law Exam your information will be forwarded to The International Conference of Funeral Services Examining Boards for them to await for you to apply.  You can go to their website at www.theconferenceonline.org/students.shtmlto obtain the appropriate application or call (479)
442-7090.  Once your application is accepted by The Conference, you will need to contact Pearson Vue to schedule your exam.  You can go to their website at www.pearsonvue.com/theconference or call (800) 709-0180 to schedule.

Q.  When will I know my scores and receive my license?

A.  Once you have completed your exam you will be given your scores; however, the SC Funeral Services Board normally will not receive your scores until four or five weeks after you have taken your exam.  Once your scores are received your license will be issued.

Q.  Can a Funeral Director or Embalmer licensed in another state transfer to South Carolina?

A.  Yes, upon completion of a Reciprocity Application, payment of $175 for a Funeral Director or Embalmer license or $250 for a Dual License - Funeral Director and Embalmer and schedule and pass the South Carolina Law exam trough The International Conference of Funeral Services Examining Boards, your license is then transferred.

Q.  Is residency of South Carolina required to receive a license in the state?

A.  No. Residency is not required for licensure, but to manage the establishment you must live in South Carolina and within 25 miles from the funeral establishment, and have been licensed for at least one year in SC.

Q.  Does the Funeral Board regulate cemeteries?

A.  The South Carolina Perpetual Care Cemetery Board regulates cemeteries.

Q.  Can a person manage more than one funeral home location?

A. Yes. A person may manage multiple locations provided it is owned by the same company and within 25 miles of the Parent funeral home or any other branch facility that is being managed by the same person.

Q.  Is embalming necessary in the cremation process?

A.  No. Embalming is not necessary in the cremation process.  However, if you plan on having a viewing of the deceased before cremation, you may prefer to have the body embalmed.

Q.  What must I do to renew a license that has lapsed?

A. If the license has lapsed for less than 5 years you must:
•   Complete the appropriate application form and
•   Pay the $60 penalty and
•   Pay the renewal fee for each renewal period the license was not active and
•   Submit proof that 3 hours of CE was completed for each year license was not active and
•   Submit a notarized affidavit certifying that they were not practicing while their license was lapsed.
•   If your license was lapsed for only one renewal period or less the Board Administrator can approve your reinstatement.  If your license was lapsed over the one renewal period, then you
will need to appear before the Funeral Services Board to state your case.

If the license has lapsed for more than 5 years you must:
•   Reapply using the appropriate application form and

•   Meet all the licensing requirements and
•   Complete and pass the appropriate examinations and
•   Submit a notarized affidavit certifying that they were not practicing while their license was lapsed and
•   Appear before the Funeral Services Board to state your case

Q.  Should I contact the Funeral Board if I change funeral home managers or relocate?

A.  Yes, each time the Funeral Home changes managers a new Facility Manager Application must be completed.  The application can be found on our website http://www.llronline.com/POL/Funeral/PDF/Funeral%20Facility%20Application%20Package.pdf. Managers must be a South Carolina resident and licensed for one year prior to applying.  If the facility is incorporated, there must be a corporate resolution identifying the manager.  This is needed in order for the manager to be able to make decisions for the funeral home.

Q.  When I prepare obituaries, can I include our funeral home’s logo?

A.  Yes, you may include the funeral home’s logo in obituaries, but the funeral home must pay for the portion of the obituary containing the logo. 

Q.  In regards to General Price Lists (GPL), the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) guidelines include “embalming if required by law.”  Since embalming is not required by South Carolina law, how do I handle this when discussing funeral plans with families?

A.  While South Carolina law does not require embalming and you cannot tell your customers that they are required to embalm, you may make recommendations to your customers about embalming as it suits the customer’s needs.  For example, if someone passes away on a Sunday and does not plan to have the funeral right away, they may want to embalm the deceased as a means ofdelaying decomposition until time for the service if refrigeration is not available.

Q.  The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) guidelines for General Price Lists (GPL) include a line that says, “cremation if relevant,” under the line for direct cremation charges.  What is the “cremation if relevant” line for?

A.  If you own your own crematory, you should put all of your charges in the direct cremation line, but some funeral homes send their cremation cases out to crematories since they do not have their own.  For funeral homes that must outsource cremations, you may want to add the cost of the cremation in the “cremation if relevant” line.

Synergy Business Park; Kingstree Building
110 Centerview Dr.
Columbia, S.C. 29210
(803) 896-4300 | Office Hours: 8:30 a.m.- 5:00 p.,m.

Directions | Site Map | Privacy | Disclaimer | Customer Satisfaction Survey | Contact Us | Other Languages

The S.C. Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation is pleased to provide various publications in portable document format (PDF).
You will need Adobe Reader to view and print these publications.